Mission

La Virée Festival is an “immaterial” heritage event that showcases traditional music, and aims to raise awareness among audiences everywhere about all forms of living heritage expression. This is essential to not only maintaining the cultural and social vitality of our community, but also reinforcing an identity and strong sense of belonging, which ultimately bring about sustainable development.



History

La Virée Festival owes its start in 2001 to the concerted efforts of the area’s cultural, tourism, commercial, economic and municipal organizations. The defunct economic development corporation of Carleton established and carried the Festival for two years. Starting in 2003 and up to now, Maximum 90, a performing arts presenter in Carleton, has become the event’s promoter and manager. Other than the support of the city of Carleton-sur-Mer, four community organizations [Vaste et Vague, Les Productions à tour de rôle, the Clan Destin and the Écomusée Tracadièche] are also involved in organizing the Festival.

The primary objective of helping to extend the tourism season by promoting and highlighting our natural and cultural attractions quickly became a unifying event with a Gaspésie, Acadian and Québécois focus.




With our geographical location and historical background, La Virée Festival is a driving force behind developing links with Acadian culture that is strongly present in the maritime provinces (New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia). Furthermore, the practice of traditional arts is generally livelier in Acadia than in Gaspésie, and that is why we believe these ties are particularly inspiring and natural.

La Virée Festival is embodied by a willingness to make our living heritage known through music and dance, storytelling, local products, traditional occupations and arts and crafts. Traditional music is the spark that ignites all Festival activities, by acting as a common thread through a heritage we want to share.

Festival goers from here or elsewhere, charmed by the spirit of La Virée Festival, enjoy a unique experience enlivened with colours and flavours of good old party evenings of bygone days. Singers, dancers, fiddlers, foot tappers, storytellers, artisans, farm producers will all be on hand to keep alive traditions steeped in the memories of our elders, but also sought by a younger generation intent on a more authentic future. Audiences of all ages and from around Canada take delight in coming to Carleton-sur-Mer during La Virée Festival to experience fall to a new rhythm.

Mission

Évènement en patrimoine immatériel avec une dominante en musique traditionnelle, le festival La Virée revendique la sensibilisation de tous les publics à toutes formes d’expression en patrimoine vivant, essentielles au maintien de la vitalité culturelle et sociale de notre collectivité, et à la consolidation d’une identité et d’un sentiment d’appartenance fort, porteurs d’un développement durable.



Historique

Le festival La Virée a pris son envol en 2001 grâce aux efforts concertés de différents organismes du milieu évoluant dans les secteurs culturel, touristique, commercial, économique et municipal. Feu la corporation de développement économique de Carleton a initié puis porté le festival pendant deux ans. À partir de 2003 et jusqu’à ce jour, Maximum 90, le diffuseur de spectacles à Carleton, est devenu le promoteur et le gestionnaire de l’événement. Outre le soutien de la ville de Carleton-sur-Mer, quatre organismes du milieu [Vaste et Vague (lien site web), Les Productions à tour de rôle (lien site web), le Clan Destin (lien site web) et l’Écomusée Tracadièche (lien site web)] sont également impliqués dans l’organisation du festival.

L’objectif premier de favoriser le prolongement de la saison touristique par la promotion et la mise en valeur de nos attraits naturels et culturels, s’est rapidement transformé en un événement rassembleur aux accents gaspésiens, acadiens et québécois.




Avec notre situation géographique et notre contexte historique, le festival La Virée est un élément moteur pour développer des liens avec la culture acadienne très présente dans les provinces maritimes (Nouveau-Brunswick, Île-du-Prince-Edouard, Nouvelle-Écosse). D’ailleurs, la pratique des arts traditionnels est généralement plus vivante en Acadie qu’en Gaspésie, c’est pourquoi ces liens nous semblent particulièrement inspirants et naturels.

Le caractère essentiel du festival La Virée repose sur la volonté de faire connaître notre patrimoine vivant par la musique et la danse traditionnelle, le conte, les produits du terroir, les métiers traditionnels et les métiers d’art. La musique traditionnelle enflamme l’ensemble des activités du festival, en agissant comme véritable fil conducteur d’un héritage à faire découvrir.

Les festivaliers d’ici ou d’ailleurs, charmés par l’esprit du festival La Virée, vivent une expérience unique épicée aux couleurs et aux saveurs des bonnes veillées d’autrefois. Chanteurs, danseurs, violoneux, « tapeux de pied », conteurs, artisans, cultivateurs… sont au rendez-vous pour perpétuer la tradition d’un passé imprégné dans les souvenirs des anciens mais également recherchée par les plus jeunes en quête d’un futur davantage teinté d’authenticité. Un public de tous les âges et de plusieurs régions du Canada aime se retrouver à Carleton-sur-Mer pendant le festival La Virée afin de vivre l’automne sur un autre rythme.